Oct 2 – Oct 4 2007 A Special Holiday

Being caught on a speed camera is embarrassing, especially when its for ‘slightly’ exceeding the 30 mile and hour limit. I was adjudged to be doing 34mph. Exceeding the limit is where the danger of course lies and there are no excuses. Soon, however, I would be given the choice of 3 penalty points on my licence or a trip to North Wales to attend and complete a half day Speed Awareness Course. The conditions of attending the course appeared crass. As the (alleged) offence had taken place in North Wales, so that’s where I had to go. I made a couple of phone calls. They weren’t joking, but the lady on the other end did sound sympathic at least. I voiced my views and put the phone down.

I decided to accept the “kind offer” before me, prepared to travel, and booked my two nights accommodation. At least, being unemployed I didn’t have the additional worry of explaining any time off to my employer. The accommodation was comfortable, and the breakfast good and wholesome and my hosts friendly and didn’t ask to many questions. Before the course I had time to look around the local area, on foot of course. The half day course itself was interesting, and I was joined by another twenty or so likely suspects, smiles were in short supply, but I was a bit of a celebrity by virtue of travelling the farthest. I decided not to argue my case with the tutor, others did of course, one wanting to blame other motorists for causing her to speed, another suggested that between the change of speed limits they should introduce a countdown of speed limits by the roadside. (Can you really imagine a change of speed limit from say 40 to 30, interdispersed with signs that announce “You are entering a 39 zone” or  “You are entering a 38 zone”. Boggling. Needless to say, this brought a few sniggers from the whole assembly. When it comes to it, the driver is the one who determines the speed, by the use of accelerator and brakes. In my case I got caught fair and square, I’d made an error of judgement and had to pay the price.”Learn your lesson well WorkHope” I thought. Throughout the day, I had also picked up some genuinely helpful driving tips, not just how to evade capture.

My long drive home was completed carefully and as a model citizen, call it sour grapes or not, but I only wish the authorities would take action against those who, not only broke the law by speeding past me on my road trip, but endangered other road users, while driving erratically, undertaking, while using their mobile phones, eating sandwiches, tying shoelaces, changing seating positions and alike.

Since this incident I have obviously been more careful not to exceed the speed limit for fear of accident and another impromptu holiday in North Wales, as much as I really like the area.

Now please excuse me as I shutdown my laptop… Er, um, were those flashes of lightening?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment